
How to choose a social media management tool (2027 guide)
Written by
Hassaan KhanUpdated

Restricted on Instagram means limiting certain aspects of an Instrgam account i.e. visibility of comments and messages with respect to how you or they interact with you.
Here are a number of things that will occur after restricting someone’s account.
Related: How to Use Instagram Reels to Grow Your Business in 2022
Easily restrict account on Instagram in three steps.
Step 1: Tap the 3 dots on the person’s profile that you want to restrict.

Step 2: Tap “Restrict”

Step 3: Tap “Restrict Account” to complete the process
Note: You can unrestrict the account following the same process
The easiest way to manage & grow your social channels
Trusted by 80,000+ forward-thinking agencies & brands worldwide
Discover MoreRecap

Note: You can also restrict someone from comments.
Here are some signs you’ve been restricted on Instagram.
Hassaan Khan is a Senior Contributing Writer and Editor at ContentStudio and a writer for SaaS and e-commerce brands, with bylines at SEMrush, ThriveGlobal, and BloggingCage. He covers social media marketing, technical SEO, and analytics, from Instagram impressions to hashtag analytics, and reviews articles for technical accuracy and SEO soundness.
View all posts by Hassaan KhanRecommended for you

How to choose a social media management tool (2027 guide)

How to build an executive’s LinkedIn content workflow with Claude Code

How to turn one product photo into 5 video Ads with Claude Code

Social media MCP server: How to automate posting with ContentStudio